Executive Board

The elected and appointed officials who serve the CBOA are a dedicated group of volunteers. If you are interested in helping, please contact anyone of our officers below.

2019-2020 OFFICERS

President, Dennis Milanovich
Dennis Milanovich is a graduate Civil Engineer from Penn State University and has held a Professional Engineering License in Connecticut since 1981. He became a Building Official when, in 2010, he was hired by the Town of Stafford to fill the roll of both Building Official and Town Engineer. Dennis has spent the majority of his career in the management of all or part of major construction projects. His list of successful projects includes, Riverpoint Plaza in East Hartford, City Place II, 55 Farmington Ave., 470 Capital Ave., Laurel Village apartments and the Learning Corridor in Hartford, the original Foxwoods Casino, the Fire Training School and Fire House on Bradley Airport and Fedex in Winsor Locks , the Dodd and Baddidge Libraries at Uconn,. He was elected First Selectman in Ellington and served one term from 2003-2005. He was a member and chairman of Ellington’s Permanent Building Committee. He has also held seats on the Board of Finance, the Wetlands Commission and the Charter Revision Commission. He was a member of two collecting bargaining teams for the AGC that negotiated state wide union contracts with the Labors Union and the Carpenters Union. He led the contract talks with the Constables in Ellington in their first collective bargaining agreement. Though he works in Stafford he lives in Ellington with his wife of 24 years and their two daughters’ ages 12 and 16.

Second Vice President, James Rupert
James Rupert has had a lifetime of experience in the construction industry. He and his father operated a remodeling company for more than three decades in eastern Connecticut before he ventured into facilities management for fifteen years, where he worked in both healthcare and educational facilities. Looking for a change of venue he became a licensed building official and has served the Town of Bolton for more than ten years in that capacity. In 2011 he began a regionalized effort to provide building official services, when he began to serve Willington, later Columbia and currently Ashford, for a project at the Hole in the Wall Gang Camp. Since 2010 James has been certified as a fire marshal. He serves the towns of Bolton and Columbia as Deputy Fire Marshal. He is an active member of the Windham County Fire Marshals Association. During the last ten years he has provided consulting services to companies such as HAKS Engineering, and Tectonic Engineering, and has consulted on legal matters for various attorneys regarding code-related incidents. James is a family-centered individual and enjoys spending time with his wife Catherine, their four adult children, extended family, and friends. He is also a community-oriented individual and has been a member of his local fire department since 2001 where he served in an active capacity for 8 years and as company president for 3 years. In 2009 he was elected as a member of his local board of education and is currently serving his third term as chairman. His education and life experiences make him a diversely talented individual and he looks forward to lending those attributes to the service of CBOA and its’ members.

Second Vice President, Jeffery Pooler
Jeff Pooler has been in the construction industry for over 25 years working on several high profile commercial and residential projects. He worked as an Electrician and Project Manager for the earlier part of his career then began operating his own company in 2004. In addition to owning his own company, Jeff has been working for the Town of Southington since 2012. He was hired as the Electrical Inspector and then in 2015 became the Assistant Building Official. Jeff also began working for Connecticut Green Bank as a Solar Inspector in 2015.

Treasurer, Carlton Smith
Carlton Smith has been the Building and Zoning Official with the City of Groton since 2005. He has 37 years of construction experience, including 13 years working for a Fortune 500 company, 12 years for a private university, 12 years in the inspection services, and he owned and operated a plumbing business for over 10 years. Currently Carlton has a State of Connecticut Building Official license, Department of Public Health Distribution Class 3 license, State of Connecticut P-1 license, Associate degree from Three Rivers Community College, Bachelor Degree from the University of Connecticut and numerous construction industry certificates. Prior to his work as the Building and Zoning Official with the City of Groton, Carlton served as the Assistant Building Official for the City, interim Building Official for the Town of Ledyard and the Assistant Building Official for the Town of Ledyard. Carlton has shared his experiences by the way of serving on different community and professional committees, for example, he has volunteered on Habitat for Humanity projects, the building committee for St. Luke Church, Extreme Makeover, Youth Collective mission to New London County, President of the Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractor (PHCC) of Southeastern Connecticut, Board of Director for the State of Connecticut PHCC,as the Secretary, Vice President, President, Past President for the Connecticut Building Official Association. Currently on the Eastern State Building Official Board of Directors, Building Official Pre-Licensures Committee State of Connecticut and Codes and Standards Committee State of Connecticut.

Assistant to the Treasurer, Rich McKinnon

Secretary, Randy Heckman

Past President,Peter Zvingilas
Peter has been involved in construction since first working for his father's construction company at the age of 13. To help pay for college he formed his own construction company, Dakota Construction LLC in 1991. After receiving his bachelor's degree from North Dakota State University in 1994 he focused full time in the construction industry. In 2001 he became the ZEO in Voluntown and in 2005 also took over the duties as the Building Official. In 2010 he became a board member for the New England Building Officials Education Association and has since become the treasurer. He is also a board member for NERC. In 2013 he became the full-time BO in Windham and in 2017 became the Assistant Building Official/ZEO of Groton. When not working he enjoys to spend time with his wife of 20 years and trying to keep up with all the school and sport activities his 2 children, ages 15 and 13.

CBOA Past Presidents
Dennis Milanovich 18-20
Peter Zvingilas 16-18
Ray Steadward 15/16
Joseph Summers 14/15
MaryAnn Basile 13/14
Ray Steadward 12/13
Tim York 11/12 (deceased)
Carlton Smith 10/11
Anthony Cinicola 09/10
Brian Platz 08/09
Lincoln White 07/08
Donald Lucas 06/07
Henry Miga 05/06
William Connolly 04/05
Leo Belval 03/04
Dick McMamus 02/03
John Hogan 01/02
Robert Rothstien 0/1
J.P. Langlois 99/00
Andy Rizzo Jr. 98/09
Tom O'Loskey 97/98
Mark Tebbets 96/97
Dave Jolley 95/96
Rich Fusco 94/5
Ken Smoil 93/4
Bill Boyens 92/3
Alice Rowland 90/1
Michael Salafia 89/0
Carl Pelletier 85/6
John Willnauar 79/1

CBOA Contacts.docx20.01 KB